What to Read after Fifty Shades of Grey

What to read after Fifty Shades of Grey

 ***THIS LIST HAS NOT BEEN UPDATED SINCE 2013, though it’s still holds true!***

THIS BLOG IS UPDATED DAILY. CLICK HOME FOR LATEST POSTS

Please see all of my top picks lists here

This will be a post that changes. The books I list here have some aspect of it that makes you feel like it is a Fifty Shades of Grey type book. Whether it has ‘kinky fuckery’, a ‘broken’ male hero that we fall for, or it has a hot alpha male, or just that undefinable characteristic that makes us not be able to put it down, I will list them here. These are my TOP choices. Also check the category, “What to Read After Fifty Shades of Grey” which will include all the books I have read that gave me that “feel” but may not have made my top favorite list. These are not all dirty sex books (not that there is anything wrong with that!)  but if you are looking for more BDSM romance themed books, there are some on this list, and more on the post: My Favorite BDSM Romance Books. You can also find my top romance choices (whether they feel like Fifty Shades of Grey or not) at A Dozen Top Romances for Summer, or check out my newer lists, Top Picks: Books with HOT sex and great stories, and My favorite Books and Bestsellers from 2012. See all of my top picks here.

Bared To You (Crossfire Series 1) by Sylvia Day is as close to Fifty Shades of Grey as you can get, and just as good, if not better. It was HOT, not really kinky, but still, Gideon is a rich, hot, very dominant millionaire. Read my review here. Reflected In You is book 2 in the series, see my review here. See the Crossfire Series Reading Orderhere. Purchase Bared To You (Crossfire 1) at: Amazon||BN.com||iBooks PurchaseReflected in You (Crossfire 2) at  Amazon || BN.com || iBooks

In Flight (Up In The Air Series) by RK Lilley actually get just as close if not closer. And this one features a flight attendant and a dominant, kinky billionaire with a 4th floor dungeon. Read my review hereMile High is the second book in the series, and was just as good. Read my review here. The third was my favorite. This series is complete. See the series order here. Purchase In Flight (Up in the Air 1) at Amazon. See the full series order here.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. Sweet innocent college girl and underground fight clubber, tattoo covered Travis “Mad Dog”. They develop an all-consuming, passionate relationship that borders on obsessive & co-dependent but it’s soooooo good!! There is not much graphic sex, but it isn’t needed. This book was phenomenal, and Travis will stick with you! Read my review here.  Purchase Beautiful Disaster at:Amazon||BN.com||iBooks

If I Were You (Inside Out Trilogy 1) by Lisa Renee Jones   Described as Fifty Shades of Grey meets Basic Instinct, this book had everything from mystery and intrigue to BDSM. It left me with that same breathless feeling I got from Fifty Shades. Check out my review here.  See the entire Inside out series order here. Purchase If I Were You at:   Amazon || BN.com || iBooks

Naked (The Blackstone Affair) by Raine Miller. This book is completely sex-on-a-stick hot, and I dare you not to fall in love with dominant Ethan. See my review here. All In (The Blackstone Affair 2) even has the man’s POV. (See my review here) See the Blackstone Affair series reading order here. Purchase Naked (The Blackstone Affair 1)at  Amazon || BN.com || iBooks. Purchase All In (The Blackstone Affair 2)at  Amazon || BN.com || iBooks

Club Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair. This is the first in a series (Masters of the Shadowlands) of BDSM romances that take place in a private sex club in Tampa. These are romances, but score off the charts for hotness and kinky fuckery. Check out the reading order here. Purchase Club Shadowlands, the first in this amazing series, at Amazon||BN.com||iBooks

Backstage Pass by Olivia Cunning. This is the Sinners on Tour series featuring a different member of a popular rock band in each book. These books are fun and HOT HOT HOT!!!! Make sure you have plenty of batteries or your husband or boyfriend on hand! These also have a really good story, and you will fall in love with every band member! Read my review for Backstage Pass here. See the series reading order with the other reviews here. Purchase Backstage Pass at Amazon||BN.com||iBooks

Love Unscripted (Love 1) by Tina Reber. A nice, long, meaty story about a big-time famous heart-throb actor falling for an average girl who has no interest in his stardom. Lots of real-life obstacles are thrown in their way. Some really good hot scenes, but no Dom/sub stuff. LOVED these books. See my review here. Love Unrehearsed (Love 2) was just as amazing. Purchase Love Unscripted (Love 1) at Amazon || BN.com || iBooks. Purchase Love Unrehearsed (Love 2)at Amazon || BN.com || iBooks

Unleashed (Ross Siblings Series) by Cherrie Lynn. Unleashed has a HOT romance between two best friends. Rock Me & Leave Me Breathless are about a hot, pierced tattoo artists and a sweet innocent girls. The first 2 books are about brothers. Read my review here.  See the series reading order here. Purchase Unleashed atAmazon||BN.com||iBooks.

 

16080704Fade  by Kate Dawes was originally three part novella series with great sex with a commanding alpha and a great storyline. It has now been republished as one book. See the review here. Purchase Fade  Amazon | BN.com

 

 

The Gamble by Kristen Ashley, the first in the Colorado Mountain Series. Most of her books are very long, juicy books with an amazing, tough alpha male and some pretty hot scenes. She has a lot of other series as well. So far I have loved them all. The men are all tough alpha-men and are often security experts or cops or something, and the women are beautiful and older (30s-40s), often having a second chance at love. There is usually a dangerous situation where the heroine needs to be rescued, and they all have amazing epilogues.  Though there are sexy parts, these are not quite erotic, but almost. See my review for The Gamble here.  See the series order here. Purchase The Gamble at Amazon || BN.com || iBooks
Also, Kristen Ashley’s The ‘Burg series starting with For You fits the same bill. Hot, uber-alpha men, cool women, suspense, romance and more. LOVE. Check out the reading order with mini reviews here. Her series always get better as you read the books. Purchase For You atAmazon||BN.com||iBooks

Kristen Ashley’s Dream Man series starting with Mystery Man is another great one! I guess nobody can do alpha men like she can. Check out the series reading order here. Again, the series gets better with each book.  Purchase Mystery Man at Amazon||BN.com||iBooks

Knight (Unfinished Hero book 1) by Kristen Ashley. This is Kristen Ashley’s first foray into real erotic romance. Though all her books are super hot, this one even more so! Though Knight is a hot, sexy, Dominant alpha, he is pretty gruff, not the polished millionaire Christian is, but he is still really sexy. This book is different than many of Kristen Ashley’s other books, because the hero is more of an anti-hero. See my review here. Creed, the second in the series, was even better. See my review here. PurchaseKnight at Amazon||BN.com||iBooks Purchase Creed at Amazon || BN.com || iBooks

Master of The Mountain by Cherise Sinclair. Another wonderful BDSM romance series by Cherise Sinclair. Part of the Mountain Masters series. The heroine is a little overweight and self-conscious about it, and I loved that! None of Cherise Sinclair’s heroines are perfect. They are all chubby, short, tall, scarred or something, and it doesn’t matter! These books are very graphic (in a good way) and have a lot of exhibitionism, anal play and more. Still a great story! 2 of the books in the series are actually anthologies with three novellas by three different authors that take place at the club the same night. Check out the reading order here. Purchase Master of The Mountain at Amazon||BN.com||iBooks
The Rescue Me series by Kallypso Masters, starting with Masters at Arms which is currently free. A group of three Marines who open a fetish club after they return from Afghanistan. The first book is a getting-to-know you prequel which must be read, see my review here. Then each book is about another Dom finding love. Check out the reading order here. Get Masters at Arms FREE at Amazon||BN.com||iBooks

On Dublin Street by Samantha Young is kind of a combination of two other books on this list, with hot and sexy alpha, Braden. Yum. See my review here. Purchase On Dublin Street at Amazon || BN.com || iBooks

 

These are my top choices, but almost every book I post about gives me the same feeling-whether it was “I can’t put it down” or “Is it getting hot in here”? For more books you may like after Fifty Shades, click on the category to the right, or the pull-down menu for this page. Or click on a tag like BDSM or Alpha Men, or My Favorite BDSM bookshere.
-
These books were made to follow Fifty shades and have the same dominant billionaire theme, but may not have been 5 star reads:
Because You Are Mine by Beth Kery. This serial novel is about a mega-rich Dominant and an innocent virgin, this series is tailor made for the after Fifty Shades fans. See the series reading order here. Purchase Because You Are Mine Part 1, Because You Tempt Me at Amazon||BN.com||iBooks
15799166Release Me by J. Kenner is the first in the Stark Trilogy filled with romance, angst, a dominant millionaire and hot sex. See my review here. Purchase Release Me by J. Kenner at Amazon || BN.com || iBooks
A lot of people suggested I add these two books to the list, they weren’t my favorite, (you’ll see why in my review) but so many people think it is a great “after fifty” book that I need to include it here.
Thoughtless and Effortless by SC Stephens. See my reviews for both here.Purchase Thoughtless at Amazon Purchase Effortless at Amazon
-
Other Amazing reads:
If you want to laugh out loud while reading a sexy book, Seduction and Snacks andFutures and Frosting by Tara Sivec was my favorite book this year. Also The Unidentified Redhead and The Redhead Revealed by Alice Clayton are laugh out loud funny and have awesome bedroom scenes.
If you are willing to escape reality a little more, JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhoodseries is a great one to start with. Dangerous, hot vampires all finding love–one book in particular is even BDSM themed!
I also have some reviews of some AMAZING books on this site that are for any age (no, I don’t only read dirty books ;-) ) like Slammed by Colleen Hoover, Sempre by JM Darhower, Flat Out Love by Jessica Park or a great romance like On the Island by Tracey Garvis just to name a few. These were all 5 star reads for me, so take your time and explore the other Top Picks lists as well as the tags and categories.
-
You can also follow me on goodreads, where you might find some reviews of books I didn’t love enough to add to this blog, or I read prior to starting it.
-
PS: Just in case you need toys or supplies for your own Red Room of Pain, or want to try out some of the toys you have read about, check out the Red Room of Pain/The Erotic Playroom. We try to keep it tasteful, educational, classy and light (it takes an extra click to get to product photos so don’t be too afraid to click) Find some of the toys you read about in Fifty Shades of Grey. New items added often!
-
If you have some more suggestions for this list, comment here so all can see, and come back often. I just added another series, and will soon be listing a lot more that I read, were great to read after Fifty, but for one reason or another I didn’t give it 5 stars. Suggestions? Bring em on!
-
Related Posts:

-

Comments

  1. I think you should add Gabriel’s Inferno & Gabriel’s Rapture by Sylvain Reynard onto your list. It definitely has a ‘broken’ male hero to fall for. It is a great read that actually makes you think about the power found in love not just sex!

  2. An AWESOME next read after Fifty….
    The Realtors Series by Liz Crowe…

    these books are engaging with a female character you can relate to…Floor Time, Sweat Equity and Closing Costs tells the story of Saran and Jack, Liz does a wonderful job developing the supporting characters who you will also develop a relationship with.

    Floor Time (Stewart Realty)

    Sweat Equity (Stewart Realty)

    Closing Costs (Stewart Realty)

  3. Hillary says:

    You also might enjoy Thoughtless & Effortless by SC Stephens. Great love story series. No kinky fuckery, just plain old vanilla, but still a great read

  4. I just finished reading SLAMMED by Colleen Hoover, it was an AMAZING book and I finished it in one day. The sequel of the book is Point of Retreat and it was just as good. Have you read it yet?

  5. I’ve just finished reading Wicked Burn by Beth Kery and would definitely add it to your list. Some kinky fuckery but also a great love story! Well worth a read

  6. I also read Bared to You after the Fifty trilogy and really liked it. Another book I found even more intriguing is The Billionaire’s Desire by Ashley Blake. The sex scenes are steamy but not graphic, and the interaction between the main characters Joshua and Sarah is so captivating. Waiting for the last book to be released! Also on my list of must reads? Gabriel’s Inferno and Gabriel’s Rapture!

  7. I love the Rough Rider Series by Lorelei James. Each book is about one member of the McKay family…and there are a lot of McKay’s. All Alpha Males (a couple of McKay girls have their own books too), Sexy, HOT w/a loving caring side. I can’t look @ ice cream the same way. A must read!!

  8. Anything by Shayla Black or Maya Banks if you like hot sex scenes!

  9. Bobbie Piperni says:

    I have found this website extremely helpful when it came to choosing books that were along the same lines as fifty shades. My favorite so far has been ” If I were you” by Lisa Renee Jones, what a great story. I can’t wait for Part 2 and 3 to be released.

  10. Mary Benavides says:

    Have you read Elle Aycart’s series “More than meets the Ink” and “Heavy Issues”? I think you like them ;). HI was one of my all time favorite reads. Enjoy!

  11. Sarah Myers says:

    I just finished reading “This Man” by Jodi Ellen Malpas. It was as compelling and steamy as 50 Shades. The sex between the two characters was intense. I highly recommend it.

  12. Hi Ana!

    I agree with a lot of those books listed but the ones I haven’t read yet are now definitely on my TBR pile! Thanks for your fantastic blog! Love it!

    -Bec
    Bec’s Book Blog

  13. Liz Adams says:

    I just released an erotic version of Goldilocks. It’s ~free~ until 5/12/2013

    Not sure if it’s exactly like Fifty Shades of Grey, but my bestselling erotic version of Goldilocks is a fun modern fairy tale where Goldie is a thief. It’s called Goldie’s Locks and the Three Men. Her locks and her men, she sure knows how to pick ‘em.

    http://bit.ly/GoldiesLocks

    ~Liz Adams

Trackbacks

  1. [...] What to Read after Fifty Shades of Grey [...]

  2. [...] What to Read after Fifty Shades of Grey [...]